Statement by Israeli academics July 2014


The signatories to this statement, all academics at Israeli universities, wish it to be known that they utterly deplore the aggressive military strategy being deployed by the Israeli government. The slaughter of large numbers of wholly innocent people is placing yet more barriers of blood in the way of the negotiated agreement which is the only alternative to the occupation and endless oppression of the Palestinian people. Israel must agree to an immediate cease-fire, and start negotiating in good faith for the end of the occupation and settlements, through a just peace agreement.


If you are an Israeli academic, working in Israel, and would like to sign this statement, please send an email to Prof. Rachel Giora with your name, title and affiliation.

Academics in Israeli universities who have signed the statement above:


Prof. Rachel Giora, Tel Aviv University 
Prof. Emmanuel Farjoun, Hebrew University
Prof. Nadera Shalhoub-Kevorkian, Hebrew University
Dr. Kobi Snitz, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
Dr. Anat Matar, Tel Aviv University 
Dr Efrat Ben-Zeev, Ruppin Academic Center
Prof. As’ad Ghanem, Haifa University
Prof. Anat Biletzki, Tel Aviv University
Prof. Adi Ophir, Tel Aviv University
Dr. Ovadia Ezra, Tel Aviv University
Prof. Zvi Tauber, Tel Aviv University
Prof. Vered Kraus, Haifa University
Dr. Yuval Yonay, Haifa University
Prof. Oded Goldreich, Weizman Institute
Prof. Dana Ron, Tel Aviv University
Prof. Gadi Algazi, Tel Aviv University
Prof. Mira Ariel, Tel Aviv University
Prof. Idan Landau, Ben Gurion University
Prof. As’ad Ghanem, Haifa University
Dr. Ayelet Ben-Yishai, Haifa University
Prof. Micah Leshem, Haifa University
Dr. Ilan Saban, University of Haifa
Prof. Avishai Ehrlich, Academic College Tel Aviv Jaffa
Dr. Ivy Sichel, Hebrew University, Jerusalem
Prof. Yehuda Shenhav, TAU
Dr. Hannah Safran, The Academic College for Society and the Arts
Dr. Yael Ben-zvi, Ben-Gurion University
Prof. Dudy Tzfati, Hebrew University
Dr. Tikva Honig-Parnass, Jerusalem
Prof. David Blanc, University
Dr. Haim Yacobi Bezalel, Ben Gurion University
Elizabeth Ritter, Ben-Gurion University
Prof. Paul Wexler, Emeritus, Tel-Aviv University
Prof. Tal Siloni, Tel Aviv University
Prof. Amatzia Weisel, Tel Aviv University (retired)
Prof. Tamar Katriel, Haifa University
Dr. Haim Deuelle Luski, Tel Aviv University & Bezalel Academy of Art​
Prof. Matania Ben-Artzi, Hebrew University
Dr. Roy Wagner, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Prof. Uri Hadar, Tel Aviv University
Prof. Shlomo Sand, Tel Aviv University
Prof. Yuri Pines, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Amira Katz, Hebrew University Jerusalem
Prof. Julia Horvath, Tel-Aviv University
Dr. Arie M. Dubnov, University of Haifa
Dr. Raz Chen-Morris, Bar Ilan University
Dr. Amalia Sa’ar, University of Haifa
Dr. Zvi Schuldiner, Sapir College
Dr. Orly Lubin, Tel Aviv University
Yoav Beirach, Tel Aviv University
Prof. Colman Altman, Technion
Prof. Hubert Law-Yone, Technion
Dr. Udi Adiv, Open University
Dr. Efraim Davidi, Tel-Aviv University
Dr. Shakhar Rahav, University of Haifa
Dr. Aura Mor-Sommerfeld, Haifa University
Dr. Michael Dahan, Sapir College
Prof. Abraham Mansbach, Ben Gurion University
Dr. Carola Hilfrich, The Hebrew University
Prof. Freddie Rokem, Tel Aviv University
Dr. Dafna Hirsch, The Open University of Israel
Dr. Smadar Sharon, College of Management Academic Studies
Prof. Shai Lavi, Tel Aviv University
Prof. Issi Rosen-Zvi, Tel Aviv University
Prof. Nomi Erteschik-Shir, Ben-Gurion University
Tamar Pelleg Sryck, Tel Aviv, Human rights lawyer
Prof. Tova Rosen, Tel Aviv University
Prof. Eva Jablonka, Tel Aviv University
Dr. Halleli Pinson, Ben-Gurion University
Prof. Ramzi Suleiman, University of Haifa
Dr. Grit Schorch, Tel Aviv University
Prof. Rafi Greenberg, Tel Aviv University
Dr. Ophira Gamliel, the Hebrew University, Jerusalem, and Bar Ilan University
Prof. Outi Bat-El, Linguistics, Tel-Aviv University
Dr. Karin Nisenbaum, The Hebrew University, Jerusalem
Neta Shlezinger, Tel Aviv University
Prof. Yuval Dor, The Hebrew University-Hadassah Medical School
Dr. Adi Weintraub , Soroka University Medical Center
Dr. Ariel Handel, Tel Aviv University
Prof. Elana Shohamy, Tel Aviv University
Dr. Ilana Yron, Tel Aviv University
Si Berrebi, Tel Aviv University
Robin Weisel-Capsouto, Jerusalem Academy of Music and Dance